Jazzy Austin: Summertime

Two months has come and passed, and I’m finally feeing like things are starting to fall into place. I moved to Austin two months ago and since then I have moved into a new house, had three different roommates, worked in a restaurant, found a new job at the University of Texas, quit my job at the restaurant, landed a sweet internship with my Italian University, LdM, found an apartment for the Fall semester, started a relationship, had my heartbroken, gotten in touch with long-lost friends, figured out the bus routes, gone to museums, gone to concerts, explored Austin, done yoga, felt depressed, felt liberated, sat in more hipster coffee shops then I can count, attended church for the first time in a year, bought a vintage bike, eaten my share of Tex-Mex and started planning my travels for the upcoming year.

As much as the summer in Austin has been lonely for me (seeing since I’m a newbie in town), it has really been positive despite it all. I am starting to see that  this is where I need to be right now… and im loving watching everything fall into place.

Ever since moving here, the electric, colorful, and youthful atmosphere of Austin has put a little more jazz and soul into my life. It’s vintage appeal, funky style and abundance of music has put a little more hopeless romantic in me, a little more starving artist in me, and given me a jazzier view on life.

My life is slowly transforming into a smokey, sexy, black and white, whiskey drinkin, growling, purring whispering, classic melody, and I’m loving it.

Here’s to a year in Jazzy Austin. May it reap good friends, good times, good art and good music.

4 Comments

Filed under SoulBeats, TravelBeats

4 responses to “Jazzy Austin: Summertime

  1. sbarenberg

    “My life is slowly transforming into a smokey, sexy, black and white, whiskey drinkin, growling, purring whispering, classic melody, and I’m loving it.”

    love this!!! ❤

  2. I seriously cannot wait to visit you!!!

Leave a Reply

