Face it: Facebook.

What if Facebook just shut down? If one day it just deleted all its memory and all our profiles were just magically… gone. I mean, think about it, that would really produce a lot of freak outs. I could imagine it would make the front page of newspapers, be top story on the 9 o’clock news, and seriously cause an instant social crutch in our society.

I have been thinking about Facebook a lot lately, and the effects it has had on me as a person. I am loyal to Facebook. I wake up in the morning and it’s the first thing I do (even before my first cup of coffee!!!). I get on Facebook when I’m bored. I waste HOURS on Facebook. And you better believe I Facebook stalk.

I have just been thinking and I have come to the conclusion that Facebook is seriously fucking us up (and it’s getting increasingly creepy if you ask me).

I have 875 friends on Facebook… and I have maybe spoken to half of them in person, and maybe I have ever actually hung out with less than half of that, and I rest assured you I only have the phone numbers of about 80 of those 875 people, and I only really only care to talk to about 10 or so of these people. So here marks my first problem I have with Facebook,

Reason 1: Anyone can see anything you post.

Raise your hand if you have put up a status close to the following: Fuck this shit. My heart has been ripped out, shredded to pieces and you don’t give a damn. Fuck you @HenryRob!!!@&($&$.

Henry Rob might not be your culprit’s name, but I would like you now to raise your hand if right after you posted that, a church leader, a grandparent, or a friend of your mom’s left an encouraging message on your wall which was very nice (but it was blatantly OBVIOUS that they just read your status about Henry Rob!).

I mean…I can definitely raise my hand to both. And that’s just awkward.

Reason 2: Facebook can make you feel socially awkward

Facebook really is the only website I can think of that has the capacity to make you feel socially awkward. You could be alone in a room on the computer and there could be some serious uncomfortable feelings going on.

Example: You just logged onto Facebook after a rough night. You are just waking up and you are planning on chilling out today. But you see that Ronny (the guy you drunkenly hooked up with last night) is on… awkward. He Facebook chats you cause he want to “talk”. You act like your not there… you don’t even touch the keyboard cause Facebook conveniently lets the other person know your typing or not (creepy!). Ronny IMs you again asking if your there or not (while you are no doubtably thinking, Eww, no. Go away fugly!). You hit the button that hides you on Facebook chat (awkward and obvious!). And thanks to Facebook updating people second by second on what you are doing, you can’t ‘like’, comment, or post anything on your Wall, cause Ronny will know your on and will realize you are avoiding him. So thanks Facebook, thanks for that socially awkward situation….

Reason 3: Facebook subjects us to the tortures of Internet PDA

Couples out there that abuse this and fill my wall with lovey-dovey shit, I hate you. That is all.

Reason 4: Facebook can be cruel.

Sometimes the truth does not set you free. Sometimes ignorance is the bliss people really want, and as a single gal I see how Facebook can make ignorance a very hard thing to obtain when the truth is posted all over your wall. You get a daily update on the life of your ex and what they are doing… and that sucks.

Yesterday I saw that two of my friends just ended their relationship. It becomes public news that both of their relationship status’ were now ‘single’. Break ups are hard, and I thought it was seriously messed up when I saw guys and girls ‘liking’ their break up and hollarin’ at them right then and there where their ex will OBVIOUSLY see it. I mean people can be cruel… and thanks for making it easier Facebook. Thanks. You asshole.

Reason 5: Facebook is creepy.

Yes, I see the positives in, ‘getting connected’ via the Internet, but Facebook leans a little towards the creepy side if you ask me.

I am friends with people I NEVER talk to, yet I know everything that is going on in their lives. I know where they live, who they are dating, where they are working, and what they are doing/feeling at any given moment of the day. I don’t mean to be creepy people, but Facebook made me do it…

And my biggest concern is that, I will now post this fun little blog about Facebook on Facebook, and all my creepy Facebook stalkers will read this (hehe, gotcha!).

But I can’t blame anyone, because I am definitely in a majority here, and you won’t see me deleting my Facebook after this. We just have to face it: Facebook isn’t going anywhere… Yay to being creepy and awkward!

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinion

Leave a Reply

